When you or a loved one have been arrested, a lot is going through your mind. You might be asking yourself questions such as, how long do I have to stay here? Can I get out soon? What do I have to do in order to get out of jail? Once you have been arrested, you can typically be released on bail while you wait for your hearing. There are, however, many crimes that come with a high bail amount that can be difficult to pay for. This is where a bail bondsman comes into play. Bail bondsmen are there to help you or a loved one no matter what crime you have been accused of committing.
Many crimes are committed in Florida, just like any other state. The following are the top three most common crimes committed in Florida and how much you can expect to pay without a bail bondsman.
Drug crimes are very common in Florida, and because of this, prosecutors tend to be very harsh on anyone who is accused of a drug crime. Drug crimes do not only include illegal drugs, but also drugs that are being sold illegally, manufactured, delivered, or possessed with an intent to sell. Remember, in Florida, marijuana is only legal for medical use by those who have been approved.
If you find yourself being arrested for a drug crime, you might be able to post bail, but keep in mind that the exact amount you will owe will depend on a variety of factors. These factors include how many drugs you had on yourself, how often you have been in trouble for drug crimes, and the county in which the crime was committed.
For instance, a drug charge for 10 grams of marijuana in Pasco and Pinellas counties could only be a first-degree misdemeanor, which usually includes a bond of up to $500. However, if you are caught with over 20 grams of marijuana, then the crime is considered a felony and your bond would be between $10,000 to $100,000.
Just like most states, Florida follows the 0.08 percent blood alcohol content rule (BAC). In other words, it is illegal to drive if your BAC is 0.08 or above. Keep in mind, the higher your BAC, the worse the charges and punishment will be.
For instance, if you are caught driving with a BAC of 0.08, and it is your first offense, then you might only have to pay a fine, have your license suspended, and complete a diversion program. However, if it is your third offense, then it becomes a third-degree felony, which means much higher punishments.
The amount of bail you will have to post in order to be released will depend on how severe the charges are. If it is your first DUI with a BAC of 0.08 percent and no property damage, then the bail amount could be up to $500. However, if it is your third offense, it could be as much as $10,000.
The charges for assault are very different depending on the situation, which can also widely differ. For instance, simple assault comes with a small penalty, including 60 days in jail, six months of probation, and a $500 fine.
In the case of a simple assault, the defendant has to prove that you meant to hurt them. For instance, if you pushed someone with a result of them falling over, you might get in trouble. However, if you tripped onto them and they become injured, you could face civil charges for medical bills, but you won’t necessarily be charged with assault.
Since the crimes can vary, the bail amount can too. For a simple assault, you could be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, which can come with a bail of up to $250. With an aggravated assault, you could be charged with a third-degree felony plus a bail of up to $10,000.
No one ever wants to be arrested; however, it happens all the time. Fortunately, some of the even more serious crimes allow you to be released on bail. On the other hand, bail can be expensive. That’s where bail bondsmen come into play. The bail bondsmen at Mercy Bail Bonds can help you or your loved one post bail. Call us today at (727) 856-7775 so we can get the paperwork started and help you understand the process of posting bail.